Skip to main content

Search form

Click "Menu" to toggle open, click "Menu" again to close

MPH - Family and Child Health

The MPH in Family and Child Health is offered by the Division of Health Promotion Sciences. The Family and Child Health Concentration (FCH) provides students a curriculum that addresses the history and current status of the socioeconomic, cultural, political and physiological issues that affect the health of women, children and families. Students entering the FCH concentration must choose a plan of work in one of two specialized areas: Maternal and Child Health (MCH) or Global Health.

All students in the FCH concentration will take a set of courses that focus on maternal and child health issues, government policies affecting women and children, adolescent health, and nutrition. In addition, each student, under the guidance of a faculty mentor, will develop an individualized plan of study for his or her specialized area of interest.

The FCH concentration encourages a variety of health care professionals to apply to this program, including nurses, nutritionists, social workers, and physicians. Students with backgrounds in a variety of social sciences who have public health experience outside of FCH are also encouraged to apply.

Family and Child Health Curriculum

Family and Child Health MPH Concentration Competencies and Assessment Methods

MPH in Family and Child Health Total Minimum Credit Requirements:

Maternal & Child Health Track = 44 units

Global Health Track= 47 units

Required Core Courses (15 units)

Maternal and Child Health Track

Required MCH Courses (23 units)

ELECTIVES (minimum 6 units) - approved by Faculty Mentor

Recommended Course Sequencing for MCH Track Full-Time Students

Global Health Track

Required Global Health Courses (26 units)

ELECTIVES (minimum 6 units) - approved by Faculty Mentor

Recommended Course Sequencing for Global Health Track Full-Time Students

Family & Child Health Faculty

Christina Cutshaw

Assistant Professor
ccutshaw@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-7020

Burris Duncan

Professor Emeritus, Public Health & Pediatrics
brduncan@email.arizona.edu
(520) 907-7865

John Ehiri

Division Director, Professor
jehiri@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-1355

Frank Franklin

Professor Emeritus of Public Health UAB
frankln@uab.edu
(205) 969-3914

Francisco Garcia

Professor, Family and Child Health
fcisco@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-8539

Lynn Gerald

Professor, Canyon Ranch Endowed Chair, Scientist
lgerald@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3243

Iman Hakim

Dean and Professor, Mel & Enid Zuckerman Endowed Chair of Public Health
ihakim@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-7083

Mary Koss

Regents' Professor
mpk@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3998

Velia Leybas Nuno

Assistant Professor
vleybas@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3525

Irma Ramos

Associate Professor
inramos@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-6965

Samantha Sabo

Assistant Professor Investigator at Arizona Prevention Research Center
sabo@coph.arizona.edu
(520) 626-5204

Douglas Taren

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor
taren@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-8375

Nicolette Teufel-Shone

Professor & Section Chair, Family and Child Health Section
Teufel@u.arizona.edu
(520) 626-9676

The University of Arizona