Skip to main content

Search form

Click "Menu" to toggle open, click "Menu" again to close

MPH - Public Health Policy and Management

The MPH in Public Health Policy and Management is offered by the Division of Community, Environment and Policy. The Public Health Policy and Management Section prepares MPH students for leadership roles in the public and private sectors and to effectively create and implement policies and manage programs that promote the public's health with special emphasis on the diverse and rural populations of the Southwest.

Public Health Policy and Management Curriculum

Public Health Policy and Management MPH Concentration Competencies and Assessment Methods         

Total Minimum Credit Requirement (45 units)

Required Core Courses (15 units)

Required PHPM Courses (18 units)

Elective Courses (minimum 12 units) - approved by Faculty Mentor*

Suggested PHPM Listing of Elective Courses*

*Please consult with Faculty Mentor regarding other University courses which would fulfill 12 unit elective requirement.

Recommended Course Sequencing for Full-Time Students

Public Health Policy and Management Faculty

Gail Barker

Senior Lecturer
barkerg@email.arizona.edu
(602) 827-2531

Leila Barraza

Assistant Professor
lbarraza@email.arizona.edu
(520) 6260720

Jill Guernsey de Zapien

Associate Dean for Community Programs
dezapien@u.arizona.edu
(520) 626-7083

Daniel Derksen

Professor, Public Health Policy and Management Section, Director, Center for Rural Health
dderksen@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3085

Howard Eng

Assistant Professor in Public Health and Pharmacy Practice Director, Southwest Border Rural Health Research Center (SBRHRC)
hjeng@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-5840

Joe Gerald

Assistant Professor
geraldj@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-4678

Michael Halpern

Associate Professor & Chair, PHPM Section
mthalpern@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-6258

Maia Ingram

Program Director, Community Based Evaluation Projects
maiai@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-2267

Tomas Nuno

Assistant Professor
tnuno@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-0933

Cecilia Rosales

Assistant Dean, Phoenix Programs
crosales@email.arizona.edu
(602) 827-2205

Kenneth Schachter

Assistant Professor
kschacht@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-7960

Ernest Schloss

Assistant Professor
schloss1@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3591

Joe Tabor

Assistant Professor
jatabor@u.arizona.edu
(520) 626-0795

The University of Arizona