The University of Arizona

Supervised Asthma Medicine in Schools (SAMS) Study

Supervised Asthma Medicine in Schools (SAMS) Study

Scroll down for a list of participating TUSD elementary schools.

This asthma study will be implemented in 16 Tucson Unified School District elementary schools beginning with the 2014-2015 school year.

Approximately 120,000 Arizona children have asthma. Asthma attacks lead to 3,000 hospitalizations each year costing Arizonans approximately $24 million in direct medical costs. Overall, the medical costs of children with asthma are double those of children without asthma. The greatest burden of asthma disproportionally falls upon low-income and minority children. One of the most important causes of poor asthma control is limited access to and inconsistent use of daily medications like inhaled corticosteroids.

To address this public health issue, the Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health at the University of Arizona has partnered with the American Lung Association in Arizona and the Tucson Unified School District to implement a school-based asthma program in 16 elementary schools.

If your child has asthma and attends one of the participating TUSD elementary schools, and you want to participate in the study, please contact the school nurse.

Scroll down for a list of participating TUSD elementary schools.

Study Coordinator

Clara Ehrman
(520) 621-5439
csehrman@email.arizona.edu

Participating TUSD Schools

School Nurse Contact Information
Bonillas Kathy Gates (520) 232-6617
kathy.gates@tusd1.org
Davidson Laura Lichtenwalner (520) 232-6817
laura.lichtenwalner@tusd1.org
Dietz Susan Buxbaum (520) 731-4017
susan.buxbaum@tusd1.org
Ford Nancy Anderson (520) 731-4317
nancy.anderson@tusd1.org
Hollinger Richea Olson (520) 225-1717
richea.olson@tusd1.org
Howell Laura Lichtenwalner (520) 232-7217
laura.lichtenwalner@tusd1.org
Johnson Ann Gentry (520) 908-3817
ann.gentry@tusd1.org
Maldonado Brita Reams (520) 908-4117
brita.reams@tusd1.org
Myers-Ganoung Monica Mangan (520) 584-6717
monica.mangan@tusd1.org
Ochoa Dee Ghost (520) 225-2417
delia.ghost@tusd1.org
Oyama Michele Bennett (520) 225-5717
michele.bennett@tusd1.org
Pueblo Gardens Sally Duncan (520) 225-2700
sally.duncan@tusd1.org
Robison Carolyn Raper (520) 232-7817
carolyn.raper@tusd1.org
Tolson Sarah Roberts (520) 225-3317
sarah.roberts@tusd1.org
Van Buskirk Maggie Rodriguez (520) 225-3717
maggie.rodriguez@tusd1.org
Wheeler Pam Williamson (520) 584-5517
pamela.williamson@tusd1.org

An Institutional Review Board responsible for human subjects research at The University of Arizona reviewed this research project and found it to be acceptable, according to applicable state and federal regulations and University policies designed to protect the rights and welfare of participants in research.