Skip to main content

Search form

Click "Menu" to toggle open, click "Menu" again to close

Epidemiology

Epidemiology Faculty

Epidemiology is a fundamental science of public health with a major focus on health problems in communities, groups or aggregates of people. It is the scientific discipline concerned with the causes and prevention of human disease. It has been designed for students whose careers will focus on conducting investigator-initiated and collaborative epidemiologic research.

Graduate Degree Programs

The Master of Public Health in Epidemiology provides students with systematic training in epidemiological principles, methods, and practices through constructive coursework and an internship.

The Master of Science in Epidemiology is designed for individuals who wish to pursue training in epidemiological research.

The section offers both the Doctorate (PhD) in Epidemiology, and a PhD Minor in Epidemiology. The PhD in Epidemiology trains individuals for careers in research and teaching in academic settings, research institutes, government agencies and industry.

Unique Strengths

Two niches for the UA Epidemiology program are a transdisciplinary approach to disease prevention and our research among populations and communities of the Southwest US. The faculty within the program and the College of Public Health are highly collaborative across the university and this collaboration becomes a model for students. Much of the research being done by the faculty within the program, in which students are participating, is transdisciplinary in nature and focused on issues relevant to populations of the Southwest.

Program strengths include:

  • Small student body
  • Corresponding low faculty to student ratio
  • Diverse student body within the College of Public Health
  • Emphasis on research within communities.

These factors encourage an effective advising and mentoring environment. The College and the program reflect student and research diversity, resulting in a robust learning atmosphere.

Another key program strength is the research productivity of the faculty members in chronic disease epidemiology, particularly in the areas of:

  • Cancer prevention
  • Nutrition and disease prevention
  • Aging issues
  • Respiratory diseases

The presence of large and successful research programs at The University of Arizona provides excellent teaching and research environments for graduate students.

Epidemiology Faculty

Heidi Brown

Assistant Professor
heidibrown@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-2262

Zhao Chen

Professor, Division Director, Epi/Biostats
zchen@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-9011

Leslie Dennis

Professor & Section Chair, Epidemiology
ldennis@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-6408

Kacey Ernst

Assistant Professor
kernst@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-7374

Janet Foote

Assistant Professor
jfoote@email.arizona.edu
(602) 827-2239

Robin Harris

Professor
rbharris@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-5357

Elizabeth Jacobs

Associate Professor
jacobse@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-0341

Yann Klimentidis

Assistant Professor
yann@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-0147

Eyal Oren

Assistant Professor
eoren@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-7008

Sydney Pettygrove

Assistant Professor
sydneyp@u.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3704

Kristen Pogreba-Brown

Assistant Professor
kpogreba@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3076

Eyal Shahar

Professor
shahar@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-8025

The University of Arizona