Skip to main content

Administrative Units

The Dean

The Dean of The University of Arizona Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, Iman Hakim MD, PhD, MPH, serves as its chief administrative officer and as such is responsible for strategic planning and facilitating growth of the college, the faculty and the student body.

Associate and Assistant Deans

Associate Deans at the UA Zuckerman College of Public Health report directly to the Dean. Associate Deans have been appointed for Academic Affairs, Community Programs, and Research. The Assistant Dean for Student Services and Alumni Affairs reports to the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and to the Dean. The Assistant Dean for Financial Affairs and Physical Resources also reports to the Dean.

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
John Ehiri PhD,MPH, MSc

Associate Dean of Community Engagement and Outreach
Cecilia Rosales MD, MS

Assistant Dean, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Velia Leybas Nuño PhD, MSW

Associate Dean for Research
Zhao Chen PhD, MPH

Associate Dean, Phoenix Campus
Cecilia Rosales MD, MS

Assistant Dean, Student and Alumni Affairs
Lyn Durán

Assistant Dean for Financial Affairs and Physical Resources
Jing Liu

Academic Programs

Academic programs are embedded within the framework of Departments. Faculty members are organized into Departments that reflect the nature of their research and practice. The Departments include Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Health Promotion Sciences, and Community, Environment and Policy. The function of the Department is to serve as an administrative unit that coordinates teaching, research, and service within their areas of specialization. The units are academic homes for faculty, staff, and students and are the central focus of collegial relationships within the College.

Department Chair of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Kacey Ernst PhD, MPH beginning mid/late June 2023

Interim Department Chair of Health Promotion Sciences
Scott Carvajal PhD, MPH

Department Chair of Community, Environment and Policy
Kelly Reynolds PhD

Interim Department Chair of Public Health Practice and Translational Research (PHPTR)
Leila Barraza JD, MPH

Administrative Professionals

The Dean also oversees the Office of Development, the Office of Marketing and Communications and the Office for Information Technology. In addition, there is a Special Assistant to the Dean who reports directly to the Dean, and two Administrative Associates who report to the Special Assistant.

Each of these administrative directors, including the Special Assistant, is responsible for the staff and functions within their defined areas. They also participate in the leadership of the college through their membership on the Executive Council.

Director, Communications and Digital Media
Shipherd Reed

Director of Office for Information Technology
David Gay

Special Assistant to the Dean
Lorraine Varela

The University of Arizona red triangle graphic