Skip to main content

Click "Menu" to toggle open, click "Menu" again to close

Congratulations to the Class of 2014

May 17, 2014

Congratulations to the 233 graduates of the University of Arizona Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health in Tucson and Phoenix. The Convocation was held in Centennial Hall on May 17th.

A total of 136 students received a bachelor of science (BS) with a major in public health; 86 received the master of public health (MPH); six received a master of science (MS) in biostatistics, epidemiology and environmental health sciences; one received a doctor of public health (DrPH) with a concentration in maternal and child health; and one received a doctorate (PhD) in environmental health sciences.

Jean Chang received the award for Outstanding Senior Student; Sarah David and Sarah Nagaratnam received the award for Outstanding Master of Public Health Student; and Dustin Holloway received the Student Life Award.

The Delta Omega Award went to nine students: Zandra Alford, Clark Alves, Tom Finkelstein, Krystal Frick, Amy Muchna, Nicasia Piermarini, Jonathan Schouest, Ellen Shelly, and Zimy Wansaula.

The following students received the award for Recognition of Academic Excellence at the Undergraduate Level:

Cum Laude: Modhi Alshammari, Oumou Bah, Cassandra Bieker, Breanna Bingham, Casey Giblin, Karli Hedlund, Bridget Jendrisak, Miranda Kuwahara, Molly Mahoney, Sedona Mann, Brittany Morehead, Laura Morehouse, Christiana Owusu-Ankomah, Ana Rico, Katie Rogers, Emily Sepper, Julie Sigler, Courtney Slanaker, Rietta Wagoner, Deanna Zehnder

Magna Cum Laude: Ashleigh Birin, Heather Bogott, Jean Chang, Margaret Delaney, Dana Lerch, Brenna Lundberg, Ross Luther, Katherine McManus, Krysta Myers, Zoe Warren

Summa Cum Laude: Sabrina D’Souza and Halie Furrier

During the ceremony, Dean Hakim presented the Awards for Excellence to the following faculty and academic professionals: Scott Carvajal, PhD, MPH, received the Excellence in Research Award; Duke Duncan, MD and Gail Barker, PhD, MBA, received the Excellence in Teaching Award; and Joyce Hospodar, MPA, MBA, received the Excellence in Service Award.

David Bui and Alejandra Gabriel received the award for Outstanding Teaching Assistant.

Prevent • Promote • Protect • Bear Down!

The University of Arizona