Skip to main content

Click "Menu" to toggle open, click "Menu" again to close

Health Behavior Health Promotion Faculty

Faculty Research Interests
Halimatou Alaofé, PhD, MSc

Halimatou Alaofè, PhD, MSc

Assistant Professor
halaofe@arizona.edu
(520) 626-5614
Disease Prevention
Global Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Nutrition & Diet
Richard Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS

Richard H. Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS

Laureate Professor, Public Health, Health Promotion Sciences & Community, Environment and Policy (EHS)
pmaxwell@canyonranch.com
(520) 749-9655 ext. 4889
Dr. Scott Carvajal

Scott Carvajal, PhD, MPH

Interim Department Chair and Professor
carvajal@arizona.edu
(520) 626-9026
Health Disparities
Health Promotion
Hispanic Health
Native American Health
Nutrition & Diet
Tobacco and Substance Abuse
Christina Cutshaw, PhD

Christina Cutshaw, PhD

Assistant Professor of Practice, Director of Family and Child Health Program, and Director of MEZCOPH Online
ccutshaw@arizona.edu
(520) 626-7020
Behavioral Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Tobacco and Substance Abuse
Burris “Duke” Duncan, MD

Burris “Duke” Duncan, MD

Professor Emeritus, Public Health & Pediatrics
brduncan@arizona.edu
(520) 626-9353
Global Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
John Ehiri, PhD, MPH, MSc

John Ehiri, PhD, MPH, MSc

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor
jehiri@arizona.edu
(520) 626-1355
Behavioral Health
Global Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Infectious Disease
Native American Health
David Garcia, PhD

David O. Garcia, PhD, FACSM

Associate Professor, Public Health
davidogarcia@arizona.edu
(520) 626-4641
Health Disparities
Health Promotion
Hispanic Health
Nutrition & Diet
Obesity
Lynn Gerald, PhD, MSPH

Lynn Gerald, PhD, MSPH

Professor & Endowed Chair, Zuckerman Family Prevention and Life Style Medicine
lgerald@arizona.edu
(520) 626-3243
Disease Management
Health of Women, Children and Families
Respiratory Disease
School Health
COVID-19
Laura Gronewold, PhD

Laura Gronewold, PhD

Lecturer
laurag1@arizona.edu
520-626-6965
Iman Hakim, MBBCh, PhD, MPH

Iman Hakim, MBBCh, PhD, MPH

Dean and Professor, Mel & Enid Zuckerman Endowed Chair of Public Health
ihakim@arizona.edu
(520) 626-7083
Cardiovascular Disease
Disease Prevention
Genetics
Global Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Nutrition & Diet
Tobacco and Substance Abuse
Patricia L. Haynes, PhD, CBSM

Patricia Haynes, PhD, CBSM

Associate Professor
thaynes@arizona.edu
(520) 626-1855
Behavioral Health
Health Disparities
Health Promotion
Nutrition & Diet
Obesity
Maia Ingram, MPH

Maia Ingram, MPH

Co-Director, Arizona Prevention Research Center
maiai@arizona.edu
(520) 626-2267
Border Health
Disease Prevention
Diabetes
Environmental Health
Health Promotion
Hispanic Health
Native American Health
Nutrition & Diet
Planning and Evaluation
Public Health Policy
Rural Health
Mary Koss, PhD

Mary Koss, PhD

Regents' Professor
mpk@arizona.edu
(520) 626-3998
Health of Women, Children and Families
Public Health Policy
Kimberly Lind

Kimberly Lind, PhD, MPH

Assistant Research Professor
klind@arizona.edu
Aging
Epidemiology
Health Disparities
Public Health Policy
Purnima Madhivanan, MBSS, MPH, Ph.D.

Purnima Madhivanan, MBBS, MPH, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
pmadhivanan@arizona.edu
(520) 621-5730
Cancer
Epidemiology
Global Health
Health Disparities
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Infectious Disease
Rural Health
COVID-19
Priscilla Magrath

Priscilla Magrath, PhD

Senior Lecturer
pmagrath@arizona.edu
(520) 626-2850
Global Health
Maternal and Child Health
David Marrero, PhD

David Marrero, PhD

Professor, Office of the Senior Vice President for Health Sciences, HPS Joint Faculty
dgmarrero@arizona.edu
(520) 626-3281
Border Health
Diabetes
Health Disparities
Martha Monroy, MA

Martha Monroy, MA

Lecturer / Program Manager
mmonroy@arizona.edu
(520) 626-8036
Border Health
Health Disparities
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Velia Leybas Nuño, PhD, MSW

Velia Leybas Nuno, PhD, MSW

Assistant Professor of Practice & Program Director, BA in Wellness and Health Promotion Practice
vleybas@arizona.edu
(520) 626-3525
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Sheila Parker, MS, MPH, DrPH

Sheila Parker, MS, MPH, DrPH

Lecturer Emerita, Public Health
parkers@arizona.edu
(520) 626-3667
Health Disparities
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Douglas Taren, PhD

Douglas Taren, PhD

Professor Emeritus
taren@arizona.edu
(520) 626-8375
Disease Prevention
Global Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Nutrition & Diet
Cynthia Thomson, PhD, RD

Cynthia Thomson, Ph.D., RD

Professor and Director, Canyon Ranch Center for Prevention and Health Promotion
cthomson@arizona.edu
(520) 940-1759
Cancer
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Nutrition & Diet
Obesity
Tobacco and Substance Abuse

Gabriela Valdez, PhD

Director, Global Health Programs, and Director, MEZCOPH Global Education
gvaldez@arizona.edu
(520) 626-6530
Global Health
Health Promotion
Nicole Yuan, PhD, MPH

Nicole Yuan, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor & Program Director, Health Behavior and Health Promotion
nyuan@arizona.edu
(520) 626-7215
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Native American Health
Tobacco and Substance Abuse

The University of Arizona red triangle graphic