Skip to main content

Click "Menu" to toggle open, click "Menu" again to close

Congratulations, Class of 2015!

With Laughter and Tears, the Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health Sends Off Grads.

With Laughter and Tears, the Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health Sends Off Grads.

During the ceremony, Dean Iman Hakim said: “You are an amazing and talented group and have greatly enriched the lives of the faculty and staff. You will honor us through your future accomplishments.”

Congratulations to the 247 graduates of the University of Arizona Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health. Centennial Hall was filled with a palpable sense of excitement, pride, and hope for the future, during Convocation on the cool Saturday morning of May 16th.

Later that night at the University of Arizona’s 151st Commencement ceremony in Arizona Stadium, President Heart said, "To our graduates, we salute you and congratulate you. We are here, all of us, to celebrate your achievement. This evening marks the end of a remarkable journey that I am sure has transformed you in many ways. The most tangible accomplishment is your University of Arizona degree."

A total of 173 students received a Bachelor of Science (BS) degree with a major in public health; 71 Master of Public Health (MPH); 2 Master of Science (MS) in Biostatistics, one Doctor of Public Health (DrPH) with a concentration in Public Health Policy and Management, and one PhD in Epidemiology. Seven students received dual MD-MPH degrees.

Devyn Bonatus received the award for Outstanding Senior Student; Vanessa Cascio and Michele Henson received the awards for Outstanding Master of Public Health Student; and Rachel Murray received the Student Life Award.

The Delta Omega Award went to seven students: Robyn Blust, Michele Henson, Stephanie Machado, Sean McKenzie, Rachel Murray, Louisa O’Meara, and Rebecca Scranton.

The following students received the award for Recognition of Academic Excellence at the Undergraduate Level:

Cum Laude: Sybil Anderson, Brandon Blauser, Belen Canto, Natalie Daranyi, Sophia Eastwood, Miranda Fair, Heidi Gerrish, Jenn Greer, Rachel Hunter, Margaret King, Sarah Koenen, Rachel Kreisberg, Amanda Lusk, Natalie Marciales, Karolyn Noonan, Myra Pixler, Heather Plummer, Christina Romaine, Blake Shannon, Chelsea Short, Megan Sutton, Heidi Williamson, Holli Wormwood

Magna Cum Laude: Alan Adjei, Ivette Arias, Devyn Bonatus, Jonathan Campbell, Daniela Canjura, Lane Conrad, Emily Dewalt, Katherine Fournier, Siena Hall, Alexander Jordan, Elvin Kibet, Maggie Kraft, Lauren Lawson, Natalie Morice, Long Tran, Colette Wiles, Brandon Witten.

Summa Cum Laude: Alexandria Guillen, Natalie Horwitz, Emily Mormino, Harrison Smith, Jake Tant, Janae Van Buren.

During the ceremony, Dr. Iman Hakim, Dean of the UA Zuckerman College of Public Health, presented the Awards for Excellence to the following faculty and academic professionals: John Ehiri, MPH, MSc (Professor and Director, Department of Health Promotion Sciences); and Denise Roe, DrPH (Professor and Section Chief, Biostatistics) received the Excellence in Teaching Award; Kelly Reynolds, PhD, MSPH (Associate Professor, Environmental Science) received the Excellence in Research Award; and Nathan Lothrop (Project Manager, Community, Environment and Policy Department) received the Excellence in Community-Engaged Scholarship and Practice.

Prevent • Promote • Protect • Bear Down!

The University of Arizona red triangle graphic