Skip to main content

Click "Menu" to toggle open, click "Menu" again to close

Distinguished Faculty Awards

Each year the Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health presents Distinguished Faculty Awards for research, teaching and service. Congratulations to the recipients of the awards for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Director, Division of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Zhao Chen

Excellence in Research
Zhao Chen, PhD, MPH
Director, Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Zhao Chen received the Excellence in Research Award for her substantial and sustainable research funding over the last five years. She is always looking for new areas in which to expand her research and new collaborators to work with. Not only has her research provided support for other faculty members within the epidemiology and biostatistics division and the college, she has also provided opportunities for graduate students for their dissertations, thesis and abstracts for national meetings.

In addition, Dr. Chen’s research has achieved national and international recognition, which benefits all the members of the college and university.

Assistant Professor
Howard Eng

Excellence in Teaching
Howard Eng, MS, DrPH, RPh
Assistant Professor, Division of Community, Environment and Policy
Director, Southwest Border Rural Health Research Center

Dr. Howard Eng is one of the original faculty members who helped create the College of Public Health at the University of Arizona. He was nominated for the Excellence in Teaching Award by numerous faculty and students. These letters recognized the outstanding dedication to providing quality teaching to students throughout the college of public health and the university including a consistent instructor for our Master of Public Health program for medical students.

Faculty recommendations included statements such as, “His practical approach to community development and gentle teaching style has endeared him to many students.”

Associate Professor, Family and Child Health
Nicolette Teufel-Shone

Community Engaged Scholarship and Practice Award
Nicolette Teufel-Shone, PhD
Associate Professor, Division of Health Promotion Sciences
Nicolette Teufe-Shone was honored for her long time commitment to community engagement, practice and service.

Dr. Teufel-Shone has partnered with the Hualapai, Hopi and Navajo Tribes for more than 15 years to build local capacity to develop, implement and evaluate health promotion programs. In her teaching she has developed intensive service learning courses focusing on rural, native and urban maternal and child health issues. Additionally, she has integrated service learning into the college of public health’s core social and behavioral health course.

“Her service to the college and the larger Arizona community is a reflection of her true commitment to improving the quality of life in our region.”


The University of Arizona red triangle graphic