Skip to main content

Search form

Click "Menu" to toggle open, click "Menu" again to close

Public Health Policy and Management

On Campus Program in Tucson

The MPH in Public Health Policy and Management is offered by the Department of Community, Environment and Policy. The Public Health Policy and Management concentration prepares MPH students for leadership roles in the public and private sectors and to effectively create and implement policies and manage programs that promote the public's health with special emphasis on the diverse and rural populations of the Southwest.

Joe Gerald, MD, PhD - Program Director
Faculty:  https://publichealth.arizona.edu/departments/cep/phpm-faculty

Public Health Policy and Management Curriculum

Public Health Policy and Management MPH Concentration Competencies and Assessment Methods         

Total Minimum Credit Requirement (42 units)

Required Core Courses (15 units)

Required PHPM Courses (19 units)

Elective Courses (minimum 8 units)

Approved by Faculty Mentor

Recommended Course Sequencing for Full-Time Students

Public Health Policy and Management Faculty

Gail Barker

Senior Lecturer
barkerg@email.arizona.edu
(602) 827-2531

Leila Barraza

Assistant Professor
lbarraza@email.arizona.edu
(520) 6260720

Matthew Butler, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Public Health and Director, Division of Health Economics, Center for Population Science & Discovery
matthewbutler@email.arizona.edu
520-626-8471

Elizabeth Calhoun

Associate Vice President, Population Health Sciences
ecalhoun@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-9921

Jill Guernsey de Zapien

Associate Dean for Community Programs
dezapien@u.arizona.edu
(520) 626-7083

Daniel Derksen

Professor, Public Health Policy and Management Program, CEP Department Chair, Center for Rural Health Director
dderksen@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3085

Joe Gerald

Associate Professor & Program Director, Public Health Policy & Management
geraldj@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-4678

Jorge Gomez

Assistant Professor; Assistant Vice President for Translational Research in Special Populations; Associate Director of the Center for Elimination of Border Health Disparities; and the Assistant Director for Cancer Outreach at the UA Cancer Center
jorgejgomez@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-4854

Maia Ingram

Program Director, Community Based Evaluation Projects
maiai@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-2267

Stephanie Carroll Rainie (Ahtna Athabascan),DrPH, MPH

Assistant Professor - Public Health, Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy; Associate Director and Manager - Tribal Health Program for the Native Nations Institute (NNI) in the Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy; and Assistant Professor
scrainie@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-4393

Cecilia Rosales

Associate Dean, Phoenix Programs
crosales@email.arizona.edu
(602) 827-2205

Anne Roubal, PhD, MS

Associate Researcher, Center for Population Science & Discovery
roubal@email.arizona.edu
520-626-8747

Kenneth Schachter

Assistant Professor
kschacht@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-7960

Ernest Schloss

Assistant Professor
schloss1@email.arizona.edu
520-626-3591

Joe Tabor

Assistant Professor
jatabor@u.arizona.edu
(520) 626-0795

Patrick Wightman, PhD

Assistant Professor, Public Health and Director, Health Analytics, Center for Population Science & Discovery
wightman@email.arizona.edu
520-626-9021

The University of Arizona