Skip to main content

Click "Menu" to toggle open, click "Menu" again to close

Family & Child Health Faculty

Faculty Research Interests
Halimatou Alaofé, PhD, MSc

Halimatou Alaofè

Assistant Professor

halaofe@arizona.edu
(520) 626-5614
Disease Prevention
Global Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Nutrition & Diet
Richard Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS

Richard H. Carmona

Laureate Professor, Public Health, Health Promotion Sciences & Community, Environment and Policy (EHS)

pmaxwell@canyonranch.com
(520) 749-9655 ext. 4889
Dr. Scott Carvajal

Scott Carvajal

Interim Department Chair and Professor

carvajal@arizona.edu
(520) 626-9026
Health Disparities
Health Promotion
Hispanic Health
Native American Health
Nutrition & Diet
Alcohol, Tobacco, and other Drugs
Christina Cutshaw, PhD

Christina Cutshaw

Assistant Professor of Practice, Director of Family and Child Health Program, and Director of MEZCOPH Online

ccutshaw@arizona.edu
(520) 626-7020
Behavioral Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Alcohol, Tobacco, and other Drugs
Burris “Duke” Duncan, MD

Burris “Duke” Duncan

Professor Emeritus, Public Health & Pediatrics

brduncan@arizona.edu
(520) 626-9353
Global Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
John Ehiri, PhD, MPH, MSc

John Ehiri

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor

jehiri@arizona.edu
(520) 626-1355
Behavioral Health
Global Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Infectious Disease
Native American Health
David Garcia, PhD

David O. Garcia

Associate Professor, Public Health

davidogarcia@arizona.edu
(520) 626-4641
Health Disparities
Health Promotion
Hispanic Health
Nutrition & Diet
Obesity
Lynn Gerald, PhD, MSPH

Lynn Gerald

Adjunct Professor

lgerald@arizona.edu
(520) 626-3243
Disease Management
Health of Women, Children and Families
Respiratory Disease
School Health
COVID-19
Laura Gronewold, PhD

Laura Gronewold

Lecturer

laurag1@arizona.edu
520-626-6965
Iman Hakim, MBBCh, PhD, MPH

Iman Hakim

Dean and Professor, Mel & Enid Zuckerman Endowed Chair of Public Health

ihakim@arizona.edu
(520) 626-7083
Cardiovascular Disease
Disease Prevention
Genetics
Global Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Nutrition & Diet
Alcohol, Tobacco, and other Drugs
Patricia L. Haynes, PhD, CBSM, DBSM

Patricia Haynes

Associate Professor

thaynes@arizona.edu
(520) 626-1855
Behavioral Health
Health Disparities
Health Promotion
Nutrition & Diet
Obesity
Maia Ingram, MPH

Maia Ingram

Co-Director, Arizona Prevention Research Center

maiai@arizona.edu
(520) 626-2267
Border Health
Disease Prevention
Diabetes
Environmental Health
Health Promotion
Hispanic Health
Native American Health
Nutrition & Diet
Planning and Evaluation
Public Health Policy
Rural Health
Mary Koss, PhD

Mary Koss

Regents' Professor

mpk@arizona.edu
(520) 626-3998
Health of Women, Children and Families
Public Health Policy
Kimberly Lind

Kimberly Lind

Assistant Research Professor

klind@arizona.edu
Aging
Epidemiology
Health Disparities
Public Health Policy
Purnima Madhivanan, MBSS, MPH, Ph.D.

Purnima Madhivanan

Associate Professor

pmadhivanan@arizona.edu
(520) 621-5730
Cancer
Epidemiology
Global Health
Health Disparities
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Infectious Disease
Rural Health
COVID-19
Priscilla Magrath

Priscilla Magrath

Senior Lecturer

pmagrath@arizona.edu
(520) 626-2850
Global Health
Maternal and Child Health
David Marrero, PhD

David Marrero

Professor, Office of the Senior Vice President for Health Sciences, HPS Joint Faculty

dgmarrero@arizona.edu
(520) 626-3281
Border Health
Diabetes
Health Disparities
Martha Monroy, MA

Martha Moore-Monroy

Senior Lecturer / Program Manager

mmonroy@arizona.edu
(520) 626-8036
Border Health
Health Disparities
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Velia Leybas Nuño, PhD, MSW

Velia Leybas Nuño

Interim Assistant Dean, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

vleybas@arizona.edu
(520) 626-3525
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
COVID-19
Health & Safety in Higher Education Institutions
Sheila Parker, MS, MPH, DrPH

Sheila Parker

Lecturer Emerita, Public Health

parkers@arizona.edu
(520) 626-3667
Health Disparities
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Douglas Taren, PhD

Douglas Taren

Professor Emeritus

taren@arizona.edu
(520) 626-8375
Disease Prevention
Global Health
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Nutrition & Diet
Cynthia Thomson, PhD, RD

Cynthia Thomson

Professor and Director, Canyon Ranch Center for Prevention and Health Promotion

cthomson@arizona.edu
(520) 940-1759
Cancer
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Nutrition & Diet
Obesity
Alcohol, Tobacco, and other Drugs

Gabriela Valdez

Director, Global Health Program, and Director, MEZCOPH Global Education

gvaldez@arizona.edu
(520) 626-6530
Global Health
Health Promotion
Nicole Yuan, PhD, MPH

Nicole Yuan

Associate Professor & Program Director, Health Behavior and Health Promotion

nyuan@arizona.edu
(520) 626-7215
Health of Women, Children and Families
Health Promotion
Native American Health
Alcohol, Tobacco, and other Drugs

The University of Arizona red triangle graphic